• Categories

  • Archives

Fixing dbExpress / libmysql.dll error in RadStudio 2009 / 2010

The problem:

  • MySQL Connector/C 6.X is not compatible with RadStudio 2009 or RadStudio 2010. (http://dev.mysql.com/downloads/connector/c/)  

  • Version 5.X of the MySQL Connector/C is not available for download. Do not waste your time trying to find it because I’ve looked.  Every single one I was able to find contained a virus.

The Fix:

  • Download MySQL Community Server (http://dev.mysql.com/downloads/mysql/) for free and install it.  

  • Open windows explorer and navigate to the MySQL Server\bin directory.  On my Windows 7 machine it is located at: C:\Program Files\MySQL\MySQL Server 5.1\bin  

  • Copy libMySQL.dll and paste it into the windows system32 directory (C:\Windows\System32\).  MAKE SURE TO OVERWRITE THE EXISTING FILE!

If you’ve followed these directions, the problem should be fixed.  If not, I don’t know what else to try so please don’t ask.  I offer this solution because it worked for me.  Good Luck!

-Gabe

Leave a comment